NC: Lake Logan Multisport Weekend

20160805_154149Located about 30 miles West of Asheville, NC, the Lake Logan Multisport Festival has something for everyone in an incredibly scenic venue. We made a family affair of it. My sister and boyfriend signed up for the 1/2 iron distance triathlon (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run). I did the 1/2 iron distance swim and bike minus the run (the aquabike, designed for people who can’t run any longer, or just don’t like to). I’m the former. After a 30 some year passionate affair with running, I’ve literally “run” out of cartilage in my knee, making running extremely painful. My brother-in-law was on Daddy duty Saturday so he did the international distance (1500m swim, 24 mile bike, 10K run)  on Sunday. There’s also a sprint (500m swim, 12 mile bike, 5K run). So whether you want to go big or just jump in with a sprint, you have all the options.

The lake is lovely though there’s not much visibility. It’s always a relief not having to worry about big surf, or sharks for that matter. The bike course is gorgeous, rolling through bucolic countryside – my boyfriend said it is more hilly than rolling. It definitely works those gams. There’s very few cars on the road – it’s absolutely dreamy. The race is well organized. I definitely recommend it.

Lake Logan  1/2 iron  Triathlon / Aquabike Rating

 Difficulty: 2.5 out of 5            Scenery: 4 out of 5              Competitive field: 4 out of 5

We rented a cabin and made a weekend vacation out of it. Fun times!

2 thoughts on “NC: Lake Logan Multisport Weekend

  1. Awesome! Looks like fun- I was supposed to do my 1st sprint tri this year but they sent an email right before warning us that the swim would be at our own risk because the water recently tested high levels of fecal content—pretty easy for me to pass on that! LOL but I’m hoping to do more duathlons next year! 🙂

  2. Yikes. on the fecal content – I would “pass” on that too. Duathlons are fun too! Enjoy your 2017 race season. 🙂

Leave a Reply

